Fatima

La Ville de la Paix

Contact

Office du tourisme d'Ourém

Telefone / Phone: +351 910 502 917

E-mail: museu (at) mail.cm-ourem.pt

Située à 120/130 km de Lisbonne, Fátima est également appelée la « Ville de la Paix », il s'agit du plus important sanctuaire marial du Portugal et l'un des plus importants au monde.

Entre 1916 et 1917, à une époque défigurée par les troubles du début du 20ème siècle et par la Première Guerre mondial, la Mère de Dieu et l'Ange étaient apparus à trois enfants qui se trouvaient avec leur troupeau de moutons sur la « Cova da Iria ».  Le 13 de chaque mois entre mai et octobre 1917, ces apparitions de Marie se renouvelèrent Par ces trois enfants et leur foi, par le dévouement à la Vierge Marie et la prière du rosaire, un grand message de paix fut transmis au monde. Des milliers de personnes vécurent cet incroyable miracle du soleil lors de la dernière apparition de Marie le 13 octobre 1917.

C'est en ce lieu saint que se trouvent aujourd’hui la chapelle de l'Apparition et la statue de la Mère de Dieu de Fátima. Sur la grande place se dresse aussi la basilique avec les tombes des trois enfants voyants et la nouvelle église de la Sainte Trinité.

Aux 20ème et 21ème siècles, plusieurs papes se sont rendus à Fátima. En 2017, 100 ans après la première apparition, le Pape François a canonisé Jacinta et Francisco, deux des voyants de Fátima.

Non loin du sanctuaire, la ville d'Aljustrel où naquirent les trois voyants ainsi que les maisons dans lesquelles ils vécurent. Entre Aljustrel et Fátima se trouvent la Loca da Anjo où l'Ange se présenta aux enfants pour les préparer à l'apparition de la Mère de Dieu, ainsi que la Via Sacra et Calvario Hungaro.  Les deux localités sont bien reliées entre elles pour les pèlerins à pied.

Fátima compte de nombreux hôtels, restaurants, magasins et musées qui font bénéficier les pèlerins de toute leur expérience de l'accueil. Dans la ville d'Ourém, on peut suivre le parcours de vie des trois voyants dans le bâtiment administratif dans lequel ils furent retenus et interrogés en août 1917 ; c'est au cimetière d'Ourém aussi que se trouvait la tombe de Jacinta avant qu'elle soit transférée à Fátima.

Depuis les apparitions de Marie il y a plus d'un siècle, Fátima est devenue l'une des plus grandes destinations de pèlerinage du monde.

Quelques informations sur Fátima

Ce qui fait de Fátima un lieu de pèlerinage particulier

Ce que Fátima a de particulier, c'est le mystère entourant ces apparitions et la puissance du message. Ce message a été communiqué à trois enfants pauvres qui se trouvaient dans la Cova da Iria seuls leurs troupeaux de moutons. Un message de paix, de foi et de consécration. C'est ce message et cette consolation que les pèlerins de Fátima recherchent lorsqu'ils visitent ce sanctuaire.

Ce message devient réalité dans le sanctuaire, les processions et les manifestations religieuses auxquelles participent les fidèles. Durant la procession aux cierges qui se déroule chaque mois entre mai et octobre dans la nuit du 12 et du 13, le tableau de Notre Dame passe devant des milliers de bougies et rappelle ces apparitions de la Vierge aux trois petits voyants en 1917.

L'histoire de la vie des trois bergers voyants et des apparitions de Marie prend réellement corps, pour les pèlerins, lorsqu'ils visitent les lieux funéraires à l'intérieur de la basilique ou les maisons où ils habitaient autrefois à Aljustrel.

Le sanctuaire

Le sanctuaire se trouve dans la « Cova da Iria » à Fátima, à seulement 120/130 km de Lisbonne.  C'est là que la Sainte Vierge est apparue en 1917 aux trois petits bergers. Une petite chapelle a été construite exactement sur l'emplacement de ces apparitions et elle abrite jusqu'à aujourd’hui la représentation votive de Notre Dame de Fátima. Immédiatement à côté, la basilique avec son haut clocher blanc, dans laquelle se trouvent les tombes des trois voyants ainsi que la nouvelle et moderne basilique de la Sainte Trinité.

Pèlerinage

Entre mai et octobre 1917, la Sainte Vierge était apparue aux trois petits bergers Lucia de Jesus, Jacinta Marto et Francisco Marto le 13ème jour de chaque mois. Lors de la première apparition en mai 1917, une « femme en blanc » avait parlé aux enfants, leur avait appris à prier et leur avait demandé de revenir à ce même endroit chaque mois jusqu’à ce qu’un miracle se produise. Le 13 octobre 1917, de nombreux pèlerins présents virent le soleil danser dans le ciel. C'est à cet endroit précis qu'a été érigée une colonne de marbre à la Madone, et construite une petite chapelle de pierres.

Journées de pèlerinage particulières

De mai à octobre, le 13ème jour du mois marque le point culminant des célébrations du pèlerinage de Fátima.

Ce jour commémore les apparitions de Marie qui commencèrent le 13 mai 1917 pour se répéter le 13ème jour du mois suivant jusqu'au 13 octobre 1917 inclus. Ces journées sont célébrées chaque fois avec des processions accompagnées de la représentation votive de Notre Dame.

Visites des papes à Fátima

Paul VI: 13 mai 1967

Jean Paul II: les 12/13 mai 1982 et le 13 mai 1991

Jean Paul II: le 13 mai 2000 Béatification de Jacinta et Francisco Marto, deux des petits voyants de Fátima.

Benoît XVI: le 13 mai 2010

Le Pape François le 13 mai 2017: Canonisation de Jacinta et Francisco Marto

Les 5 principaux événements
  1. Fête de Santo Amaro - Le 15 janvier, cette fête en l'honneur de Saint Amaro est célébrée au pied de la ville médiévale d'Ourém.
  2. La Via Sacra d'Ourém (le Vendredi Saint) : Les habitants de la ville et de la région avoisinante rejouent le récit de la Passion du Christ.
  3. Procession aux cierges - Dans les nuits du 12 au 13 entre mai et octobre se déroule une procession spectaculaire. Des milliers de pèlerins et leurs cierges illuminent le sanctuaire tandis que le symbole votif passe devant eux.
  4. Festivals de Notre Dame d'Ortiga – L'une des plus anciennes fêtes mariales de Fátima se déroule le premier dimanche de juillet à six kilomètres du sanctuaire.
  5. Célébrations de Noël – Au cours de la période de Noël, la ville de Fátima s'anime.
Les 5 principales curiosités de Fátima
  1. Le Sanctuaire de Fátima – La chapelle des Apparitions, la basilique avec les tombes des trois voyants et l'église de la Sainte  Trinité. La « Cova da Iria » qui fut le théâtre de ces apparitions est devenue l'un des sites religieux où convergent chaque année des millions de pèlerins et touristes en provenance du monde entier (9,4 millions en 2017) www.Fátima.pt
  2. Aljustrel et Valinhos – Les lieux de naissance des trois enfants visionnaires. Les maisons où ils naquirent peuvent être visitées. Valinhos est l'endroit où l'Ange leur est apparu pour la première fois. C'est du rond-point automobile sud à Fátima que part le Chemin de Croix conduisant à la maison de Lucia à Aljustrel. www.ourem.pt
  3. L'église paroissiale de Fátima – C'est dans l'ancienne église paroissiale du village de Fátima qu'avaient été baptisés les trois petits bergers. www.paroquiadefatima.org
  4. Le sanctuaire d'Ortiga – Il s'agit d'un sanctuaire marial situé à quelques kilomètres seulement de Fátima.  Chaque année, le premier dimanche de juillet voit se dérouler les célébrations en l'honneur de Notre Dame.  Une légende relate la guérison miraculeuse d'un petit berger en 1758. www.paroquiadefatima.org
  5. Maison de l'administrateur et monument à Jacinta Marto à Ourém – L'ancienne maison de l'administrateur d'Ourém, Artur Santos, qui avait convoqué les trois enfants visionnaires pour les interroger en août 1917.  Exposition permanente sur Ourém et Fátima à l'époque des apparitions. Autres expositions à thème. Le monument à Jacinto Marto devant l'hôpital. www.museu.cm-ourem.pt

Les 5 principales destinations d'excursion depuis Fátima

À deux heures de distance maximum

Ourém
Ceinturée de sa muraille, la ville moyenâgeuse d'Ourém autrefois appelée Abdegas occupe un site stratégique capital au beau milieu du pays. Habitée depuis des temps immémoriaux, la ville avait été reprise aux Maures en 1136 par Alfonso Henriques, le premier roi du Portugal. La ville connut son apogée au 15ème siècle grâce aux actions cosmopolites de D. Afonso, le 4ème comte d'Ourém. C'est à cette époque que furent construits le palais et l'église paroissiale. Un tremblement de terre détruisit la ville en 1755 et peu après elle fut envahie par les troupes françaises.

Le parc naturel d'Agroal et le monument naturel des empreintes de dinosaures
Ce monument naturel remonte déjà à plus de 175 millions d'années et compte les plus longues empreintes de pas de dinosaures connues dans le monde. Le parc est affilié au réseau « Natura 2000 » auquel appartient aussi la plus grande source de la rivière Nabao. Là se trouvent des piscines, des plages et un centre d'information.

Monastères de Batalha, d'Alcobaca (tous deux classés par l'UNESCO au patrimoine de l'humanité) et de Nazaré (plages et sanctuaire)
Les monastères de Batalha et d'Alcobaca sont deux sites classés par l'Unesco au patrimoine mondial de l'humanité, et deux des principales curiosités à visiter au centre du Portugal. Les merveilleuses églises, les cloîtres, jardins et sépultures de nombreux rois et reines du Portugal méritent la visite. Nazaré est un très beau village de pêcheurs sur la côte ouest du Portugal auquel on associe de superbes plages et de succulents fruits de mer. Il faut aussi absolument visiter le sanctuaire Notre Dame de Nazaré.

Tomar (classée par l'UNESCO au patrimoine de l'humanité)
La belle ville de Tomar près de la rivière Navao rassemblait autrefois les Templiers du Portugal. La forteresse médiévale, les nombreuses églises et la synagogue sont les curiosités culturelles et historiques de la ville. Le « Convento do Cristo » est un monastère fortifié du Moyen-Âge. L'ancienne église ronde constitue l'élément principal du monastère. À voir en outre les nombreux cloîtres ainsi que les œuvres d'art de style manuélin.

Coimbra - Ville universitaire
Coimbra est l'une des plus belles villes du Portugal. Avec sa magnifique bibliothèque et sa chapelle, son Université figure parmi les plus anciennes d'Europe. Le long de la rivière Mondego, vous découvrirez les traditions de l'Université et les importantes curiosités de la ville dont l'ancienne cathédrale (Sé Velha), l'église Santa Clara a Velha, des musées, le Fado et bien d'autres choses encore. Sœur Lucia (la seule des trois voyants à avoir vécu plus longtemps) a vécu au couvent des Carmélites jusqu'à sa mort en 2005.

Voici comment rejoindre Fátima

Les principaux moyens de desserte

Arrivée en avion

Aéroport Humberto Delgado – Lisbon

Service de bus jusqu'à Fatima depuis l'aéroport de Lisbonne
www.aeroportolisboa.pt

Aéroport Sá Carneiro - Porto

www.aeroportoporto.pt

Arrivée en voiture

A1/E1 Autoroute Lisbonne – Porto

Arrivée en train

Station of Caxarias
De Lisbonne ou Porto à Caxaria, puis poursuivre jusqu'à Fatima en taxi ou en bus.
www.cp.pt

Arrivée en bus

From Lisbon and Oporto

www.rede-expressos.pt

Fatima

City of Peace

Your local contact

Tourism Information of Ourém

Telefone / Phone: +351 910 502 917

E-mail: museu (at) mail.cm-ourem.pt

Located 130 km from Lisbon, Fátima also dubbed "City of Peace", is the most important Marian sanctuary in Portugal.

Between 1916 and 1917, in a climate of war and turbulence of the early twentieth century and the First World War, three children who were tending their flocks in Cova da Iria experienced manifestations of the Mother of God and an angel. The apparitions of Our Lady occurred on the 13th day of each month between May and October 1917. There her great message of peace was transmitted to the world by the three children through faith and devotion to Our Lady and the praying of the Rosary. Several thousand people witnessed the amazing "Miracle of the Sun" during the last apparition of the Virgin on October 13th, 1917.

The Chapel of the Apparitions was erected precisely at this sacred spot and houses the image of Our Lady of Fatima. On the huge square around it one finds the Basilica with the tombs of the three seers and the new Church of the Holy Trinity.

Several popes visited Fatima throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. In 2017, one hundred years after the first apparition, Pope Francis canonized Jacinta and Francisco, two of the seers of Fatima.

Besides the Sanctuary, there is the village of Aljustrel, birthplace of the three seers. The houses where the children lived are still maintained and open to visitors. Between Aljustrel and Fátima, "Loca do Anjo" can be visited, which is the spot where the angel appeared to the children preparing them for the apparition of Our Lady. Also the Via Sacra and Calvário Hungaro are worth a visit. Both routes connect Aljustrel and Fátima and are ideal for a short pilgrimage on foot. The city of Fátima has many hotels, restaurants, shops and museums that have long excelled in welcoming and serving pilgrims. In the county seat of Ourém, you can also follow the story of the seers at the Administrator's House, where they were detained and interrogated in August of 1917. In the cemetery of Ourém pilgrims can visit the tomb where Jacinta was burried before being transferred to Fatima.

Within a hundred years, Fatima has developed into one of the greatest pilgrimage centers in the world today.

Some facts about Fatima

What’s special about the pilgrimage of Fatima?

What is interesting about Fatima is the mystery and strength of the message. The message was transmitted to three poor shepherd children who were alone with their flocks in the Cova da Iria: a message that speaks of peace, faith and consecration. It is this message and this comfort that pilgrims seek in Fatima and when visiting the Sanctuary.

The message materializes through the believers' processions and religious activities at the Sanctuary. This is especially true of the candlelight processions that take place from May to October - always at night between the 12th and 13th of each month. They remind each pilgrim of the apparitions of the Virgin in 1917. At these dates, thousands of candles light the huge square and the image of Our Lady passes by in a solemn procession.

The pilgrim can follow the story of the Apparitions and the three seers, visiting their tombs inside the Basilica, now venerated as saints, or visiting their houses in the village of Aljustrel.

Shrine of Fatima

This is one of the most important shrines dedicated to Our Lady in Portugal and in the world. The shrine is located in Cova da Iria – in the town of Fatima in central Portugal (120km from Lisbon), and was the location of several apparitions of Our Lady in 1917 to three little shepherds. A small chapel was erected on the spot where the apparitions occured and, to this day, it still holds the image of Our Lady of Fatima. Close by, the basilica with is white bell tower and the tombs of the three children, offers masses daily. Across from it stands the modern Church of the Trinity.

Pilgrimage History

Between May and October 1917, always on the 13th day of each month, Holy Mary appearedto the three little shepherds – Lucia de Jesus, Jacinta Marto and Francisco Marto. On the first visit in May 1917, a “white lady” appeared and spoke with them instructing them to pray and to return to that exact spot each month until a miracle would accour. On the 13th of October 1917, the sun danced in the sky for the many pilgrims that where there that day. A Madonna has been placed on a marble column precisely on this spot and a small stone chapel was erected.

Special pilgrimage days

From May to October every year, the 13th day of each month is celebrated in a very special way.
Processions with the image of Our Lady of Fatima mark the highlight of the pilgrimage ceremonies that are held in remembrance of the apparitions that started on the 13th of May in 1917 and then followed every 13th of each month until the last apparition on the 13th October 1917.

Popes at Fatima

Paul VI 13th May 1967

John Paul II 12th/13th May 1982

John Paul II 13th May 1991

John Paul II 13th May 2000: beatification of Jacinta and Francisco Marto, two of the seers of Fatima.

Benedict XVI 13th May 2010

Pope Francis 13th May 2017: canonization of Jacinta and Francisco Marto

Top 5 events

Where to go

  1. Procession of the Candles - in the night from the 12th to the 13th day of each month between May and October, a spectacular procession takes place: thousands of pilgrims carry candles and illuminate the Sanctuary while the image of Our Lady passes by in a solemn procession.
  2. Christmas Festivities -  for Christmas, Fátima becomes a lively city.
  3. Via Sacra de Ourém (Good Friday): The inhabitants of the village and its surroundings reenact the Passion of Christ along the historic streets
  4. Festival of Our Lady of Ortiga - One of the oldest Marian feasts of Fatima takes place six kilometers from the Sanctuary, always on the first Sunday of July.
  5. Santo Amaro Fair - At the foot of the medieval Village of Ourém, on January 15th , the feast is held in honor of Santo Amaro.
Top 5 sights in Fátima

1. Sanctuary of Fatima - Chapel of the Apparitions, Basilica with the tombs of the seers and Church of the Holy Trinity. The Cova da Iria, the stage of the apparitions, has become an important religious place of worship that welcomes pilgrims and tourists from around the world each year (9,4 million in 2017). www.fatima.pt

2. Aljustrel and Valinhos - birthplace of the three seers and where you can visit their houses, as well as Valinhos where the angel first appeared. Starting at the south roundabout in Fátima, you can walk the Way of the Cross up to Lucia's house in Aljustrel. www.ourem.pt

3. Parish Church of Fatima – Old church of the village of Fatima, where the three shepherds were baptized. www.paroquiadefatima.org

4. Sanctuary of the Ortiga - Marian Sanctuary a few kilometers from Fatima, once a very important pilgrimage site, still holds festivities in honor of Our Lady on the first Sunday of July. A local legend tells the story of a little shepherd who was cured through a miracle in 1758.  www.paroquiadefatima.org

5. Administrator's House and Jacinta Marto Memorial in Ourém - Old house of the Administrator of Ourém, Artur Santos, who welcomed the three seers of Fatima in August 1917 for questioning. The house shows permanent exhibitions about Ourém and Fatima at the time of the apparitions as well as temporary exhibitions. In front of the hospital is now the Jacinta Marto Memorial that can be visited. www.museu.cm-ourem.pt

Top 5 Excursions from Fátima

Up to 2 hours driving time

City of Ourém and Medieval Village of Ourém
The walled town of Ourém, once known as Abdegas, holds a central and strategic location within the country. Inhabited since prehistory, it was reconquered from the Moors around the year 1136 by D. Afonso Henriques, first King of Portugal. Its time of greatest splendor was in the 15th century, thanks to the cosmopolitan actions of D. Afonso, 4th count of Ourém. It was at that time that the Palace of the Count and the collegiate church were built. The earthquake of 1755 devastated the town that was shortly afterwards marked by the French invasions.

Nature Park of Agroal and Natural Monument of the Dinosaur Footprints
The Natural Monument is a mid-Jurassic deposit (about 175 million years old). It is the longest trail of sauropods known in the fossil records worldwide. The Nature Park belongs to the Natura 2000 network and it’s the largest water spring of the River Nabão, with a riverside beach and an interpretation center. This is a landscape of great biodiversity and of geological and archeological interest.

Batalha (UNESCO Heritage Site), Alcobaça (UNESCO Heritage Site) and Nazaré (sanctuary and beach)
The monasteries of Batalha and Alcobaça, both recognized by UNESCO, are two of the most significant monuments in central Portugal and some of the most emblematic in the country. Worth a visit are the magnificent churches, cloisters, gardens and the tombs of several kings and queens of Portugal.  Nazaré is a picturesque fishermen’s town in west coastal Portugal associated with long and beautiful beaches and seafood. Don't miss the Sancturary of Our Lady of Nazaré in the upper part of the town.

Tomar (UNESCO Heritage Site)
The beautiful town of Tomar, near the river Nabão, was once the main seat of the Knights Templar in Portugal. The town's cultural and historic heritage includes the medieval castle, numerous churches and a synagogue. The Convent of Christ in the Templars' castle is another UNESCO world heritage site to discover in this region, with its cloisters, living quarters and halls, the magnificent Charola and the ornate Manueline window.

Coimbra - Old University City
Coimbra is one of the most beautiful cities in Portugal. The university is one of the oldest in Europe with a magnificent library and chapel. Along the Mondego river we discover the traditions of the university and important sights like the old cathedral (Sé Velha), the church of Santa Clara a Velha, museums, Fado music from Coimbra and other beautiful sights. Coimbra was also the place where sister Lucia (the only seer of Fátima that lived longer) lived in the convent of Carmelitas de Coimbra until she died in 2005.

Travelling to Fatima

The most important connections

Getting here by plane

Airport Humberto Delgado – Lisbon

Bus connection from the Airport to Fatima
www.aeroportolisboa.pt

Airport Sá Carneiro - Porto

www.aeroportoporto.pt

Getting here by car

Fátima is located in the center of Portugal. Located just off the main motorway (A1), traveling by car, Fátima is one hour from LIsbon (capital) and two hours from the city of Oporto (the second city of the country).

Getting here by train

Station of Caxarias
from Lisbon or Oporto

by taxi or bus connection to Fátima.
www.cp.pt

 

Getting here by bus

From Lisbon and Oporto

www.rede-expressos.pt